Ṣaḥīḥ & It’s 5 Conditions

Ṣaḥīḥ (صحيح) is the highest level of authenticity a Ḥadīth can reach after “Muttafaqun Alayh” (‏متفق عليه), which is a Ḥadīth which was agreed upon being Ṣaḥīḥ by both Imām al-Bukhārī رحمه الله (d. 256 AH) & Imām Muslim رحمه الله (d. 261 AH), & could be found in both of their works.

Gradings of Ḥadīth are usually summarized into three:

  1. Ṣaḥīḥ (صحيح): Authentic, Sound
  2. Ḥasan (حسن): Fair
  3. Ḍaʻīf (ضعيف): Weak

Applying the ruling of Ṣaḥīḥ to a Ḥadīth must meet five conditions, which is to be elucidated ʾIn shāʾ Allāh.

Shaykh Ṣāliḥ al-Fawzān حفظه الله said: “Ṣaḥīḥ Aḥādīth is what the devout with complete retention narrates from the likes of him free of being Shādh (irregular) and containing any hidden defects.

So, it is a narration that has fulfilled five conditions:

  1. Devoutness of the Ruwāh (narrators)
  2. Precision in preserving the narrations
  3. Linked Isnād (chain of narration)
  4. Free from any hidden defects
  5. Free of being Shādh.” [1]

And Allāh knows best.

All praise is due to Allāh, may His peace & blessings be upon our final Prophet Muḥammad, his family, his companions, & all those who follow him in guidance.

[1] Sharḥ al-ʿAqīdah al-Wāsiṭīyyah (شرح العقيدة الواسطية) by Shaykh Ṣāliḥ al-Fawzān | Page 79

Ṣafīullāh Labīb ibn Salīm ʿAbd al-Malik
18th of Rabīʿ al-ʾAwwal 1444